Favorites · Shows

My Top 5 Korean Drama

I have already watched a lot, I guess, almost 30 Korean Dramas. Thanks to my friend, Lisette, for supplying me the english-subbed version of these well-loved shows. Now it’s time to present my Top 5 (in random order) based on the over-all story line, effects, characters and portrayals without being bias with my favorite Korean celebrities. Because If I am, I would definitely choose To The Beautiful You of F(x) Sulli, Hotel King of Lee Dong Wook and Innocent Man of my love, Song Joong Ki. 😀

man from the stars
ctto: thefangirlverdict.com

1. Man From The Star – also known as My Love From The Star and Man From Another Star, starring Kim Soo Hyun and Jun Ji Hyun. What I love about this drama is the combination of scifi, comedy and romance that it provided the viewers. The funny character of Jun Ji Hyun as Cheon Song Yi, a trying-hard celebrity who is so full of herself and the serious character of Kim Soo Hyun as Do Min Joon, a very cold and distant man (actually, an alien), added to the excitement of the plot. Cheon Song Yi feels she’s on the peak of her fame and that every man is interested with her became flustered upon realizing that the man next-door, Do Min Joon doesn’t know her at all. Do Min Joon, on the other hand, could not accept that Chon Seong Yi looks like the girl she loved hundred years ago. The flashback to the Joseon Dynasty from time-to-time, which made me understand the present also made me more interested on what will happen next.

i hear your voice
ctto: asianwiki.com

2. I Hear Your Voice – the story evolved on how the ability of a high school student, Park Soo Ha (played by Lee Jong Suk) to hear other people’s minds became both an advantage and disadvantage on taking care of a public lawyer, Atty. Jang Hye Sung (played by Lee Bo Young) against the man who killed his father. The lives of the two main casts linked together when the then little girl, Hye Sung gave a decisive testimony on the court as a witness despite of the killer’s threat. Without much romantic story and cringe scenes, what I love about this drama is the unique way on how they deal about cases and trials on the court, which at times, I’m making my own judgment and ended up with a wrong one. Their use of unconventional methods on cases, proving that while sometimes justice is blind to a fault, it can still hear your voice.

It's okay It's Love
ctto: soompi.com

3. It’s Okay It’s Love – a story between a Psychiatrist and a best selling author and radio DJ, who at first became rivals during their guesting on a TV show, became housemates, then became lovers. Gong Hyo Jin as Dr. Jin Hae Soo, a smart and compassionate doctor has a negative attitude towards love and relationship, which makes her fear about having a commitment and suffers from sex phobia. On the other hand, Jo In Sung as Jang Jae Yeol, feels uncomfortable sleeping anywhere but inside the bathroom, which is driven by his troubled past and obsessive-compulsive disorder. Both attempted to heal each other’s deep-seated wounds, but their fledgling relationship takes a blow when they learn that Jae Yeol’s mental health issues are more serious than they initially suspected. Packed with other hilarious co-stars, what I love about this drama is that it teaches the viewers to value each person that surrounds us however way they treat us, since each one has its own struggle and needs healing from past traumas.

gumiho
ctto: wikipedia.org

4. My Girlfriend Is A Gumiho (Nine-tailed Fox) – with the tandem of cute and charming Shin Min Ah and Lee Seung Gi, this romantic comedy series never fail to make my heart flatter, never fail to make me smile and never fail to make me want to hug Miho (played by Min Ah) on every episode they release. A normal college student and ambitious actor-wanna-be, Cha Dae Woong (played by Seung Gi), accidentally freed a legendary fox. Suffering from a life-threatening fall, the only way that Dae Woong could live is by having the fox-bead of Miho inside his body. Miho wants nothing more than to become a human. As time passes, they get to know each other better and Dae Woong was charmed by how Miho looks at the world with a childlike wonder. What I love most about this drama is the innocence of Miho on living her everyday life and how protective Dae Woong is on this pure and kind-hearted beast.

lie to me
ctto: fanpop.com

5. Lie To Me – last but not the least, I bet you know by now that I am so into romantic comedy. 🙂 Lead by one of my all-time favorites, Yoon Eun Hye, a government employee of Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism named Gong Ah Jung, lied to her friends that she is married to the very wealthy president of World Hotel, Hyun Ki Joon (played by Kang Ji Hwan). At first, Ki Joon was very angry because the gossip spread frantically. However, after a series of events, they agree that pretending to be married for a short while would be mutually beneficial. They even created a contract to pretend being a married couple, bounded until the frienemy of Ah Jung flew from Korea and the Chinese businessman invested on Ki Joon’s company. Both grew closer and more fond of one another over the duration of their pretended marriage, which made them confess their real feelings toward each other in the end.

If you haven’t watch any of the above series, I highly recommend those. Just make sure to still be vigilant on your sleeping hours as these affected me like drugs. Well, happy vitamins is a better description.

How about you, what Korean Drama do you like best? 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Korean Drama

Leave a Reply

