Christian Walk · Life Lessons

Only Hope

Are you feeling bothered, sad or troubled lately?  Do you feel that where you are right now will not change anymore?  Do you think that your situation will stay as it is, like forever?  Are you losing hope?  Have you, once, put your hope on someone else or on something else?  Well, you are not alone.  I, too, have been on that same spot last week.  The good news is God sees us.  Before we even tell Him, he knows what we are going through.

I find it funny and cool that God spoke to me with exact words in three different ways.  I imagined Him in front of me, holding my shoulders and telling me to stop, kalma lang, digest His message and apply it slowly.

(1) Last Sunday, during the Praise and Worship in CCF, one of the songs that was played is Why So Downcast by Marty Nystrom.  The melody is uplifting, which made me undergo with LSS until today.  Here is the chorus:

Why so downcast Oh my soul?

Put your hope in God (3x)

Oh why so downcast Oh my soul?

Put your hope in God

And bless the Lord Oh my soul

(2) On evening of that same day, during my regular Bible reading, I was scheduled to read the book of Psalms from chapters 26 to 50.  I was surprised to see Psalm 42:11, which made me recognize that God is emphasizing this particular verse in me.

export_02

(3) Indeed, God moves in mysterious ways since just this morning, during my quiet time, this is what Darlene Sala talked about on her book, Refreshing Words for Busy Women:

20141028_190029

After the third time of revealing to me what I should do in order to be at peace, my prayer began with, “Lord, paulit-ulit?”, realizing that most of the time, everything is just a reminder.  Without a doubt, our whole trust, faith and hope should be in God alone.  He even told us to lift up all our burdens to Him as His burdens are light (1 Peter 5:7).  It is a great privilege that there is someone who can carry our loads – free of charge.

“If you look at the world, you’ll be distressed. If you look within, you’ll be depressed. If you look at God you’ll be at rest.” – Corrie Ten Boom

So the next time you feel unhappy, you know where or to whom you will put your only hope.

He will retell it to you in many ways. 🙂

One thought on “Only Hope

Leave a Reply

